Baby chickens have arrived

21 Feb

I got a call this morning at 5am from the post office saying my chicks had arrived. It worked out that I was just getting off work at that time, so here I went to the post office and picked them up. Got them home and mixed up some electrolytes and water in the waterer, I removed them one at a time, dunked their beaks in the water and released them in the brooder. I loved watching each one acclimate to the brooder, huddling under the heat lamp getting warm, stretch, and take off at top speed.
So far we have only lost one, although it was one of my wife’s buttercups. Which she and I were disappointed with, why couldn’t it have been one of the reds, I could’ve went to tractor supply and easily replaced that breed.
Which brings me to my trip to tractor supply, where Millie and I only went to pick up, dog food, cat food, another bag of chicken starter, and a roll of net wire field fencing. So as I take Millie for her first trip to tractor supply, we get one of the carts for hauling feed sacks and has the small basket. Millie’s happy to go in, not being left in the truck this time, but as we get into the store she changes her mind and freezes. I end up having to set her in the small basket part of the cart.
As we meander thru the store, we slowly make our way to the brooders. I look at the babies chirping away, right then I see the sign for the generic pullets and think, she would kill me if I bring home more chicks after having to deal with 32 already.
Then I see the ducks, and then I start to think, what’s a homestead without a few ducks. Just then a lady asks if I needed help? I quickly say, yes let me have 6 of these pullets, 2 yellow ducks, and 2 of the black ducks. I then tell her that I have a few other things to get and I’ll pick these up at the register when I check out.
So Millie and I head over to the feed section and grab a 50lb bag of starter, 40lb bag of puppy food, 20lb bag of dog food,and a 16lb of cat food. After this is stacked on the cart Millie decides she’s going to stand with her front legs on the feed sacks with her back legs in the basket and navigate. We make our way outside and make sure they have a roll of the fencing I need.
We come in and head to the check out. We get there and the ladies working the counters have to pet and ohh,ahh over Millie which she thoroughly enjoys. After the feed is scanned she decides just to sit on the feed sacks, everyone is commenting on how well she’s behaving. And I have to agree she acted very well for her first shopping trip.

20130221-004437.jpg
Here’s her picture as we leave the store and head to the truck.

Leave a comment